RSS

Top 10 Cultural Phenomena (movies-category) I’ve (gladly) missed out on

12 Apr

by Kristy


Yes, I was a child of the 80s, and I did quite well on the fashion-front.  I had big, wild hair, I tight-rolled my jeans, wore slap-bracelets, and even owned a fanny-pack in fluorescent colors, when the time was right.  I also participated in other aspects of the culture – I watched MTV when it was new, was a loyal fan of the era’s sitcoms, and listened to the great 80’s bands like Poison and Heart (and maybe I still do, OK?).  But apparently, I missed out on some of the key movies of my generation (and even the generations surrounding that decade).  Here is my top 10 list, should I ever decide to rent these missed classics from Netflix.

Top 10 Blockbusters Kristy Somehow Missed the First Time Around:

1. The Godfather (I, II and III). OK, you can start rolling your eyes or condoling me now…Yes, I missed this classic.  The closest I got was watching scene recreations by Tom Green (remember Tom Green??? he was hilarious).

2. Star Wars (all of them).  I may be a scientist, but I lack enjoyment of the Sci-Fi category of films (or books).

3. Karate Kid. Yup, didn’t see the first one, and won’t see the second one.  I am a grasshopper in the watching-Karate-Kid category (yet I still understand this cultural allusion…and may be confusing it with the TV series Kung Fu).

4.Scarface or Goodfellas (which I always get confused). I have, however, watched all seasons of the Sopranos, so I feel up to date on this topic.

5. Die Hard – there are tooooo many of these movies anyway…

6. Raging Bull (is this different than #8?)

7. Jaws – Isn’t it enough that I know the music and the plot? And with today’s CGI technology, there is no way I’m going to believe that shark fin is real.

8. Rocky (see first rationale for #7)

9 Dirty Harry – this is one I actually DO want to see, adding to Netflix queue right now…

10. Terminator – I’ve (somehow) seen Kindergarten Cop, and I’ve seen Arnold as the Governator…I think that’s ample.

Thanks to this site for boosting my memory: http://www.digitaldreamdoor.com/pages/movie-home.html

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2011 in Kristy, Pop Culture

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Top 10 Cultural Phenomena (movies-category) I’ve (gladly) missed out on

  1. Matt Rogers

    April 13, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Now is this just saying that you don’t like the series of those movies, or ANY of the movies, even as singles? For example: Die Hard rocks, but the series sucks. The rest pretty much blow. Never gave a shit about Star Wars, yet everyone I know in my age category that I’ve met in the past 10 years thinks I’m crazy. Something in the Orono water?

     
  2. tyrannosauruslists

    April 13, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    Its not that I don’t LIKE any of them, per se, but I actually have not SEEN any movie in this list…and based on snippets here and there, I think I can judge that most of them would be terrible. Derek says Die Hard is amazing, though…
    I agree with the Orono water theory, I care nothing about Star Wars.
    (Kristy)

     
  3. maggie

    May 12, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Dirty Harry is the one to see on this list, for sure. I watched for the first time this year – it made me want to always speak through clenched teeth.

     
  4. tyrannosauruslists

    May 13, 2011 at 8:42 am

    ha! Love it, Maggie…clenched teeth

     

Leave a Reply

 
