RSS

Things We’re Tyrannical About – April 2011

13 Apr

By Kristy and Kristen


Kristen is Tyrannical about:

1. Amazon’s 100 Albums for $5 in April
My favorite way of replacing missing albums in my music collection is by keeping an eye on Amazon’s MP3 Downloads. I check the digital deal of the day regularly, but for the last couple months the 100 albums have been lame. But April? The Cars, Beastie Boys, Queen, The Ramones, Patsy Cline, Smashing Pumpkins, Pat Benatar! And I seriously almost repurchased CooleyHighHarmony.

2. The Society of Arts in Crafts
Located on Newbury Street in Boston, this non-profit organization recognizes craft artists with a retail store and exhibition gallery. One of my good friends, Katie Glusica, was featured in the gallery exhibit, “The Loom: on, around, & through,” which ends this month. Even if you miss Katie, there are a lot of interesting crafts and educational possibilities going on with the organization. With metalwork, fibers, jewelry, glass, and ceramics, there is something for everyone to admire.

3. Tina Fey’s Bossypants
At the risk of sounding obsessed with Fey (which I am) or redundant (which I tend to be), this book is seriously hilarious.

4. New “Evil, Buck-Toothed Dinosaur” Discovered
I’m the one out of the two of us that is obsessed with dinosaurs, mainly of the angry variety, so I’m always excited when a new one is found. This guy might be small, but it looks super evil. Now I just need to get another emotionally disturbed dog so I can name it Daemonosaurus, Daemon for short.

5. Better Book Titles Blog
This blog, introduced to me by my friend Penni, rewrites or condenses the not-descriptive-enough titles of your favorite books. If you think Cliff Notes are too long and not funny enough, check out this website.

Kristy is Tyrannical about:

1. Other people’s lists like this…Gwyneth’s GOOP, Jay-Z’s Life + Times, various magazine features where people list their favorite things… can’t get enough. Don’t you want to know what your favorite chef has in his fridge?  What really interesting people are reading or listening to?  Or what people would choose as their 7 wonders of the world?? I want to know, and I want to know now.

2. At the risk of sounding like an asshole, whatever happened to freak shows?  I did see the Lizard man at a tattoo convention years ago, but I regret not being old enough to see the freak shows that were hidden inside trailers at the Blue Hill Country Fair when I was a kid.  Today, we’re so PC that its difficult for people who are different to make a living from it (and I doubt medical studies pay that well). I guess freak shows (as exploitative as they were) are just part of that old-timey feel we get when we think about speakeasy’s and bootlegging beer.  Luckily, one of my favorite magazines of all time (Wired), rounds up some of the currently-freaky (including my Lizard man!). PS: Just learned the freak-show definition of Geek from the great book, Geek Love.  I geekily love this book.

3. Outdoor gear! One warm day in the Northeast, and we’ve already eagerly planted our garden and organized our camping gear.  This year, we’re excited to pick a GPS unit, begin camping earlier in the season using warmer tents and sleeping bags, and the amazing 3-in-one Jakpak is on my wish list.    Although last year this Glastonbury solar concept tent was on my wish list, and I’ll probably never get either of them.  All you really need in the great outdoors is equipment to build and cook over a fire (in my opinion).

4. Watching Who Do You Think You Are, and resisting logging onto ancestry.com.  This Brit-inspired docu-series by former Friend Lisa Kudrow follows celebrities as they trace their ancestral roots around the globe.  Trips on the Mayflower, holocaust survivors and long lost relatives are all uncovered within the hour. Makes me want to unearth my own earthly history, but I know the venture would be a costly one.

5. The Seahorse machine. OK, little bit nerdy here, but an inordinate amount of my time is spent troubleshooting this machine.  The concept is simple: plate your cells, raw mitochondria, or tissue slices; add the correct unbuffered media, load the ports with specific mitochondrially-toxic compounds, and let  the machine read your CO2 and O2 exchange over time.  The power to identify how genetic manipulations or other treatments affect your mitochondrial energy expenditure is exciting.  The actual reliability of the data…a  bit less so.

 

9 responses to “Things We’re Tyrannical About – April 2011

  1. Tony

    April 13, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    only had a sec but wanted to comment.

    The top picture is awesome!
    Love “most” of the album selection!
    Tina fae is over rated…. But to be fair have not read the book.
    I would like to know all of the above on #1 Kristy, Please go on…
    Carnies. Circus folk. Nomads, you know. Smell like cabbage. Small hands.
    Outdoor gear, Ive sworn my allegiance to LL Bean!
    Ancestry seems nice until your sitting at home watching African American Lives 2 With Don Cheadle and you find out your great uncle raped his great grandmother and then re sold her and their illegitimate child back into slavery…
    I read your seahorse machine #5 but all I have to say about it has nothing to do with what your talking about and thats Seahorses rock! I wish I had one! You think they still sell them in the back of comics?
    Nice job ladies!

     
  2. Anonymous

    April 13, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Did I miss out on the emergence of a new meaning of the word tyrannical? I thought it meant being oppressive and cruel. That said, ya’ll do look a bit like Qaddafi’s all-female bodyguard squad.

     
  3. tyrannosauruslists

    April 14, 2011 at 10:13 am

    Yes, we are cruelly and oppressively forcing our views on our readers – you got it!
    (Kristy)

     
    • Tony

      April 15, 2011 at 12:10 pm

      Thats for true…

       
  4. Penni

    April 14, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    So Bossypants, is good? Glad to hear it… The last excerpt in the New Yorker was a bit Lorne Michaels worship-y…

     
    • tyrannosauruslists

      April 14, 2011 at 6:22 pm

      Yeah, that piece was a little Lorne-y, but I haven’t gotten there yet in the book. It isn’t perfect (and I’m not done with it yet), but I have been laughing out loud & when she nails it, its really good.

       
  5. Penni

    April 14, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    I’m glad you didn’t write that you’ve been LOLing.

     
  6. tyrannosauruslists

    April 15, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
