RSS

Latin phrases I use in the lab, but could throw-around more in common conversation to sound like an Ass

09 May

by Kristy

Science and medicine are full of Latin phraseology.  Sure, I have to say these words on a day-to-day basis to communicate with my peers.  But to sound like a real Ass, I could also start throwing these around in general conversation:

1. A priori/a Posteriori/ad hoc

You think that shirt will look nice with those pants?  That is a priori knowledge, you better try it on first.

2. bona fide

That taxi driver was a bona fide jerk.

3. ad infinitum

I am going to listen to this album ad infinitum.

(see also: ad nauseum)

4. de facto

It may look like yellow syrup, but it is de facto cheese.


5. in toto

I’m happy with this rental car in toto.

6. ipso facto

I am throwing around Latin phrases in everyday talk, ipso facto, I am an ass.

7. In Situ/in vitro/ in vivo/ex vivo

I’m baking this casserole in vitro.

If you need a definition, please visit this helpful site.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Latin phrases I use in the lab, but could throw-around more in common conversation to sound like an Ass

  1. Lish

    May 10, 2011 at 8:59 am

    My favorite: ipse dixit. (He himself said it.) But I understand why Gilbert didn’t use ipse dixit in this “Pinafore” lyric: “For he himself has said it, and it’s greatly to his credit, that he is an Englishman.” I also like ipso facto. Just like saying it outloud.

     

Leave a comment